Equipping yourself for your career

Below are the Q-A sessions in Rediff chat answered by Amit Bansal, the founder and CEO of PurpleLeap.

******

payal asked, Sir,I have passed my B.E in 2007 and rite now in mumbai after marriage,i have no experience due to family issue,but now from last 6 months i am working as resource executive in one placement consultants firm and handling IT company as i have background of cse students,plz suggest i am on right track or not, also pursuing PGDBA-HR distance learing from symbiosis pune
Amit Bansal answers, Well Payal…if you are doing PGDBA in HR, I am sure you must have thought about a career in HR. If you are getting an opportunity in this domain as a resource executive handling recruitment, i think take it as a start. You can groom into other areas within HR soon.


psudhir asked,  Sir, I wants to make my career in despatch co-ordinator , as i have more than 7 years of expirence in despatch department, But education front I have done my MA in political science…I needed your guidance on which path to chose should i Chose despatch or as my education goes i Should focus on admin….of which i have only 1 years of experience.Presently I am working as an sales co-ordinator for a company?
Amit Bansal answers, If you think you are doing well in this profile…stick to it. You have a good number of years experience in this domain…don’t let that go in vain.


Praan asked, Dear sir, i have around 5 years exp in Software Quality engineering. But offlate i have realised that my interest is in Renewable resources industry like Solar, Wind. How should I start getting into it. should i leave my job and start searching ? I am a mechanical engineering grad.
Amit Bansal answers, Interesting. My suggestion is look at your entire work experience and see the competencies you have developed in all these years. Now look at the job profile you can be eligible for in the renewable resources industry. You will have to strategize your entry into a new industry.


jittu asked, Sir, I wants to make my career in operations , as i have more than 9 years of expirence in Operation, But education front I have done my MBA in Finance…I needed your guidance on which path to chose should i Chose operations or as my education goes i Should focus on finance….of which i have only 1 years of experience.Presently I am working as an Asst Manager – operations for a company?
Amit Bansal answers, Well most often people who have studied a particular domain are working in a totally different area. So I guess, before you confuse yourself with your qualification and skills and competencies, I suggest ask yourself what you enjoy the most. Maybe then you can think of increasing your qualification in that particular area.


shivam asked, What are the career opportunities in event management?
Amit Bansal answers, There are many career options. Like visualizing concepts, planning, budgeting, organizing and executing events such as fashion shows, musical concerts, corporate seminars, exhibitions etc….there are a host of event management options available.


loafer asked, sir,i want to join the offshore industry in remotely operated vehicles(r.o.v) and automated underwater vehicles(a.u.v) after doing my mechanical engineering.how should i go about it?
Amit Bansal answers, I don’t think there are many companies operating in this domain. It’s a niche industry. My suggestion is first find out globally which companies operate in this area. Visit the websites and look at the career options and apply for them. Apart from the core companies, each of these companies will be supported by other companies for procurement of resources. Look at the career options in alternative domains as well which eventually will give you access to your choice of career. Long process…but if you really want to get there…I am sure you will.


Vishal asked, Hi Amit, by when does one need to decide what career he wants to be in? I’m in my 10 std now. My parents want me to study for medicine or engineering, but I’m not sure if i want to do that or try something else. Who can I check with?
Amit Bansal answers, Vishal, the first person you need to check with is yourself. Look at the subjects that interest you. That’s the first criteria. Now look at the various industries that attract your attention. Study about these industries. Gather more information from the web, from people around you. That’s the best way to prepare. And I think this is the right time to think about your career.


Shailajanand asked, I am thinking for Msc distance, is it eligible for NET in future, will i take participate for NET after Msc through distance?
Amit Bansal answers, yes you are eligible for NET


notty asked, should i go for a career based on interest or scope of remuneration? i have always been confused
Amit Bansal answers, I suggest interest…but then you need to know your priority. If you have interest, you will make enough money. But if you go for remuneration and do not like the job, you will always be dissatisfied with whatever you are doing.


aslam asked, Sir, am class XII pass. could not study fiurther coz family problems. how can i build my career?
Amit Bansal answers, Aslam, you can start your studies even now. Why don’t you prepare for your graduation through distance learning? The reason I am mentioning that is because the minimum qualification for any job is graduation. Unless you want to open your own business.


Nikhil asked, Sir, what are the career opportunities in fashion industry?
Amit Bansal answers, Nikhil..there are many options within the fashion industry. You have design, manufacturing, quality control, merchandising, concept management, accessories etc etc….now what kind of profile are you looking at?


rajesh asked, sir, i am 15 and i want to be an investment banker. how can i start preparing
Amit Bansal answers, Rajesh, since you are only 15, the first question you must ask yourself is, what particularly attracts you about investment banking?


mamu asked, Sir, what could be five dos and don’ts for getting prepared for one’s career?
Amit Bansal answers, Hi, it is important to first look at the industry that you would like to work in. Next is within that industry what kind of work profile suits your skills and personality. once you identify this, the next step is to work towards gaining subject matter expertise in that domain. I think these steps are the most important steps to prepare for one’s career.

****

Rediff Chat Date: Oct 5, 2011

Source: http://www.rediff.com

 

Leave a Reply

