Setting a smart goal

Many people are not able to articulate what they really want in life in clear and concise language. Oddly enough, people are generally pretty good at articulating what they don’t want. So it’s no wonder that a large percentage of the population go through life getting what they don’t want and don’t fully realise their goals and desires.

You get what you focus on! Goal setting is one of the most powerful techniques that you can use to help you accomplish what you really want in your life. It helps you to move in a focussed direction towards a target. The purpose of setting goals is to achieve it. Goals inspire us to do what we actually want to do. By having the goals you know where your efforts need to be put. Hence you can use your energy and time in the right way.

However not every goal can be successful and if a goal is not achieved there is no point in setting a goal. When we set up a goal, we intend to be guided by the goal. Therefore, we should be active and motivated with the goal in order to achieve it. In order to stay motivated with the goal all the time, you need to know some tricks in goal setting. Setting goals are never more prevalent than when you welcome in a new year. At this time of the year your goals have an added importance and necessity.

*****

Below are the Q-A sessions in Rediff chat answered by Amit Bansal, the founder and CEO of PurpleLeap.

*****

arunkumar asked, Hi i am an ECE engineer with ~10 years of experience. I am good at technical skills. I believe one has to switch to managemernt to grow further. Is this true? When does one decide to switch to managerial line from technical line?
Amit Bansal answers, Not really. You can have challenging opportunities and good money even in technical field.


akber asked, I mean, like the formal way of ending job, like first give resignation and serve notice period than take relieving letter as such.
Amit Bansal answers, Well in that case you must not leave organizations that way. I suggest please maintain a good track record with your current employer for better prospects in the future.


akber asked, I have issues with employers, somehow I ended up with not upto the mark ending of job contracts with several employers, its making my career very difficult to continue, can you suggest me some ways to mend it. I am IT professional with nearly 8 years of experience.
Amit Bansal answers, What do you mean when you say ‘not up to the mark ending of job contracts’?


vinitayan asked, I am an engineer student and currently preparing for CAT 2012. I have got offer from L&T infotech. I need to crack CAT 2012 anyhow. Please guide me how should i handle bot the job and studies. My parents want me to get a job. Please help
Amit Bansal answers, I think you are trying to do too many things at the same time. I suggest please identify your priorities and decide whether you want to take up a job or do further studies. You can either focus on CAT and pursue MBA from a reputed organization and put this job on hold, or take up the job and look at MBA later.


Yogesh asked, Hi Sir, I am 30 and have 3 yrs experience in Software testing after completing my BE in computers. But I am not satisfied with the job and nor I am interested in it and dont want to take it as a career. Yes I like animated movies and they appeal me to pursue a career in animation. Will it a good decision to go for it?
Amit Bansal answers, Look for a good institution if you are planning to do a course in animation. Apart from that narrow down some companies you would like join in the animation domain. This will help you keep in view what qualification is required by the companies and you will not have to struggle too hard to find your ground.


sanju asked, Hi, I’m interested to do accounts related jobs and luckily I’m employed as Accountant. I wanted to pursue ICWAI and joined the course but unfortunately drop it in the mid way as I can’t handle work and study.. But still my heart beats to get a professional qualification in Accounts. Pls suggest some way
Amit Bansal answers, You can take up freelance work while you are pursuing studies. Some organizations also offer study sabbatical. Check with you HR if that’s an option.


pooja asked, Sir, I am having 8 years of exp. in HR & Admn and presently wkg in Automobile company. I am pursuing MA in Labour Management and further i want to pursue Masters in Business or Corporate Law. Will this be beneficial for me as i personally want to move in Hard-core HR and also wants to be a trainer side by side.
Amit Bansal answers, Both courses seem beneficial.


Viswanath asked, I am 40 with graduation and diploma in exim, placed with European MNC as Manager SD process. Needs to further enhance my profile. Till now I have been associated with import and export trade. I need to enhance my qualification also, should I go for Supply Chain Management diploma/ MBA in international marketing will be of help.
Amit Bansal answers, An MBA would be a better option.


Deepak asked, Hi Sir, due to some reason i was not able to complete my T.Y B.com left with 2 subject, i am working in a private company in Daman(Gujarat)from Last 12 years in despatch department, now i want to shift to my hometown in mumbai, but because i have not completed my graduation i am stuck to the present job, please tell me how i can shift to Mumbai.
Amit Bansal answers, Complete your graduation. For better career prospects it will be beneficial.


rama asked, somany times we set a goal but the level of interest fall down after some time, beacouse of various resion or some new goal is attracted than this, How to keep the interetst till end and how to track it?
Amit Bansal answers, Keep only a few goals don’t overdo. Reward yourself for every small target achieved. The reward mechanism will ensure your interest in achieving a goal remains intact for a longer duration.


mahendra asked, i am in to warehousing and logistics industry. I am having my own setup, but i want to grow, i am constantly in touch with the people for business expansion but still i have not suceeded. I started this businness two years ago with one client and has not been able to add so far. my target was atleast 1 customer per year, what should i do ?
Amit Bansal answers, Identify your core strengths and focus those strengths in approaching your potential customers. Sometimes we walk to customers with what we have to offer and not with what the customer may need. I suggest you to look at this approach as well.


sude asked, i m 32 and still not able to decide about my future though i m wrking with reputed company. Please advise…
Amit Bansal answers, Maybe you need to review your goals in light of you life goals. What is that you want to achieve ultimately. Based on it you can create short term and long term goals and eventually daily goals.


Vikas asked, Can a man of principles, truth (No corruption/No Lies) achieve the set goals in life?
Amit Bansal answers, yes most definitely.


victory asked, how to keep our goal live. After setting the goal we move towards it after that we forget it. How to stick with the goal?
Amit Bansal answers, As you set goals give yourself a benefit and consequence as well. If you reach a goal reward yourself and if you fail because of your own attitude then keep a penalty for it. That’s the best way to achieve goals. However, don’t set goals that are not Specific, Measurable, Achievable, realistic and time bound.


saisarada@rediff.com asked, Sir, I am in Power sector. HR & Admin. Is doing Law will be useful to me.
Amit Bansal answers, Most companies have a legal department. With experience in the power sector and Law as an added degree you can venture into the a domain which deals with the legal aspects.


Hi asked, i want to know having 4.5+ year of exp in IT industry . how MBA will help to further rise in career?
Amit Bansal answers, With an MBA you can get into management profiles from core IT.


zamir asked, Hi Sir..I am working in a software firm from 3 years but I dont feel satisfied.I love teaching,acting,dancing and other things too..I am not able to decide where exactly to go..I dont like my present job ..i am doing it only my parents want me to do it..could you please help me in what job would I opt ?
Amit Bansal answers, Zamir, nice to know that you have multiple hobbies and interests. I suggest you narrow down a few vocations that can be pursued as a career and the rest can be pursued as hobbies. By no means you can do all the things at the same time. So don’t confuse yourself with too many things with which you will only lose focus eventually. Do one thing at a time.


shyam asked, hi, i want to know how to handle circumstances which is direct indirect effect your goal in daily routine life?
Amit Bansal answers, Keep some time aside for interruptions and adhoc activities. Don’t assume that if you have planned a day in a certain way everything will fall in line. So keep time for contingencies.


JG asked, Dear Amit, I belong to the customer service industry, I want to know if doing a PHD in customer service would help, if yes pls could you suggest some institutes
Amit Bansal answers, I am not sure what kind of career you want to pursue with a Phd in customer service.


yellowteeth asked, Mr. Bansal – If I want to pursue a career in HTF – high frequency trading in India. What should be my right path in terms of education and professional qualifications? Do i need to enroll in computer science or cud it be pursued in commerce also?
Amit Bansal answers, I think no formal education in India currently offers specific programs for HTF. So you can enter a HTF career with education in either computers or commerce. You will have do a little research to find out which companies will offer you real time experience in HTF and build your skills there.


Hi asked, What kind of goals should b set?
Amit Bansal answers, Always set goals that are Specific, measurable, achievable, realistic and time bound.

********

Source: Rediff

Chat Date: Wednesday, January 4, 2012

Leave a Reply

