Making the most of your time in office

It may sound like a clichéd statement but there just doesn’t seem to be enough time in the day. If you were to ask any working professional they will tell you that they feel like they are constantly chasing the clock. However, if you find yourself always running out of time, then you should consider having a schedule to manage your time, which is going to help you prioritize your time and show you how to accomplish more in less time and with less stress.

Time management begins with the realization that without some thought and planning, we are likely to waste a great deal of time in the future and have already wasted a huge amount of our life span in the past. By using proven methods we can make the most of whatever time we have.

Below are the Q-A sessions in Rediff chat answered by Amit Bansal, the founder and CEO of PurpleLeap.

***********************

Kevin asked, I’m a very organized person and usually get my work done on time. I have a team of seven reporting to me and some of them don’t complete their work on time, due to which I’ll eventually end up going home late. How can I make them organize their work and in turn wind up my work faster?
Amit Bansal answers, Call a meeting and discuss the instances when other people not completing their tasks has affected your deadlines. Help them understand the consequences. Also going forward create room for contingencies so if a task needs to delivered in 6hrs give your team a deadline of 4hrs.


Shashi asked, My Boss wants everything to be done in no time. She sends email to do something and immediately shoots another email asking for the status. I am unable to prioritize my work as my boss sits on my head all the time.
Amit Bansal answers, A good way to draw lines with your boss is to reply immediately with a tentative deadline. There is no need to reply on the second email if it comes before your deadline is over. Once or twice she will show impatience but soon she will understand. Try this.


Sreedhar asked, There will unplanned work that arises in between and eats away the time , which is not related but Boss ask to look into , How to tackle the same
Amit Bansal answers, In the plan for the day, it’s a good idea to create room for interruptions. So anticipate that there will be adhoc tasks coming your way. There is little you can do to avoid them.


rahel asked, Hi Amit, I would have prepared a schedule for a day, but as the day passes I realise that i have been doing new jobs and the old ones in my list keep piling. How can I refuse to take on new jobs before completing my old ones?
Amit Bansal answers, Saying a no is very important. It is very important to not take tasks if the previous ones are not completed.


Subrata asked, Amit, I seem to be forgetting things I should do during the day. I would have written it down in my schedule and also made a note in my calender, but it does not seem to help. Because of this i’m getting worked up and this is generally affecting my performance. can you please tell me how to manage my time better?
Amit Bansal answers, Try to create a ‘to do list’ put it right in front of you where you can see it all the time. Each time you complete a task strike it off the list. That’s a great motivator. Try this.


jatin asked, thanks a lot amit sir. just one more query.What kind of information generally a induction program has? Just pointers, and also some things to avoid in the first month. Also is it right to ask questions when i dont understand a particular thing, or it will be perceived as i dnt know anything and was not suitable for the job?
Amit Bansal answers, Induction is basically an introduction to the company, it’s policies etc. It will allow you to understand the organization and how it functions. It will help you understand the business and how your contribution will affect the overall picture.


Sunaina asked, My boss often comes and spends time talking loudly to my colleagues during office hours and this disturbs my concentration. HOw can I ask him to keep quite?
Amit Bansal answers, I know it can be tough but ask your boss to change your place. When he asks why you can tell him indirectly that the disturbances do not allow you to concentrate. Alternatives are to get used to listening to music on ear plugs while working, that’s a way when nothing else works.


Akhil asked, Hi Amit, I don’t know where my times goes in the first half of the day. In the second half, post lunch, I get tensed that my work for the day is not over and eventually end up staying late in office. What to do?
Amit Bansal answers, A tried and tested way to manage this imbalance is to make a to do list at the start of the day. Paste it on your pin board where you can see it all the time. Each time you complete a task strike it off your list. That’s a great motivation. You may not be successful in completing your to do list on day one… but as it becomes a habit you will enjoy your day more because you will see your productivity improved. And if you complete all the tasks on a given day give yourself an incentive and if you don’t question your own performance. Very soon it will be a habit you will enjoy.


locket asked, Im wasting most of my time on facebook. How to control myself.
Amit Bansal answers, Ask your IT to block the site.


SURAJ asked, Hi Amit, what does one mean when they say prioritise? Every job I have in the morning is important. How to prioritize?
Amit Bansal answers, Suraj, you need to look at the list of tasks you need to finish and see how is your contribution critical to the bigger task or final output. Once you get that clarity you will know which task needs your attention first. Sometimes clear deadlines help you decide to set priorities. Setting priority is important because it avoids mental clutter and keeps your day and work organized without getting worked up.


jatin asked, hello amit sir, i am going to join a new job from monday, any tips so that i can adjust in the new job and also some things to ask the HR regarding company policies?
Amit Bansal answers, Most companies have an induction program for new joinees. You can make the maximum of whatever information is provided during this program. You may have some questions which you can clarify during the induction. As far as adjusting in a new job, spend some time observing. Specially during the first month. Soak in the work culture first before you plunge into work fully.

************************

Source: www.rediff.com

Chat Date: March 7, 2012

Leave a Reply

