How to impact and influence others at work

The ability to impact and influence others is a key competency frequently identified in top performers. While we assume salespeople are good at impacting and influencing, the ability to impact and influence others is often the number one competency in helping, service, managerial and leadership roles. Learning to increase your ability to impact and influence others can make a big difference to your career success.

Impact and influence as a competency is the ability to persuade or convince others to support an idea, agenda or direction. Impact and influence is often linked to organisational awareness. Understanding who the key decision makers are, who wields the power and who the influencers are, enables you to be more strategic in your dealings and approaches with stakeholders in order to get your desired results.

*********************

Below are Q & A section answered by Amit Bansal, CEO Purpleleap

Don asked, I am very experienced in my domain in engineering. I joined an organization recently. What is the best way to get your new junior team mates to have trust and beleif in you? How can i convince the new management that i can add value to the organization?
Amit Bansal answers, Hi Don, The Organisation has selected as a prospect to be a Productive resource ensure you keep up that expectation and excel, To have a better influence on your team understand your juniors expectations as to what areas they need your support and Areas where they lag to bridge. thsi will help build confidence among the team and the Management.


djoshi asked, Hi Amit…How can we make our senior understand our view point without offending them
Amit Bansal answers, Hi Joshi, Clearly communicate with facts and positive outcomes as alternative point of view without contradicting your Seniors views.


Ajay asked, I am very good in my work…but nobody appreciates the same.
Amit Bansal answers, Hi Ajay, Work accomplishment is what we all are expected to do at work where as How innovativly and how many of the team is affected does matters. look for opportunities where you can emphasise you innovation which will bring appreciations.


Vikram asked, Amit, I work in a big organization. How can I get the top management guys to take note of me and is there any short cut to reach there myself?
Amit Bansal answers, Hi Vikram, As you know every destiny has its own route and expects Time and Experience. there is no shortcut for a destiny however there are alternatives choosing the best one is upto you.


akshay asked, Dear Sir, I own a manufacturing unit , wherein i hav to take work from labourers , and they r not doing work as per the requirement & we don’t an option to remove them , in such a case what should be done???
Amit Bansal answers, Hi Akshay, when there is a need to extract best of the outcomes from Labourers, you need to have a clear benefit plan for them that keeps them motivated. ensure their Basic necessaties are taken care and emphasise how their increased performance will be a booster for the organisation and them aswell. This will lead to a win win solution.


Sanjay asked, Good afternoon mr. Bansal! Being an independent consultant in QA/QC Construction field, what skills I should have to develop to impress my clients?
Amit Bansal answers, Hi Sanjay, i am Sure you have the best of skills related to the Construction field technically, however its is most important for you to step into your clients shoes and understand what is that they look up to you as a service provider. introspect and proceed in this direction, it helps.


Rakesh asked, I am Area Manager & Normally people not listen to me also they arae escaping at the right time. What to do to control the people ?
Amit Bansal answers, Hi Rakesh, we all work to achieve a Common Goal which is inturn aligned to our individual goals. to have a greater influence on your team ensure to emphasise and motivate them to achive common goals which benefit them inturn. show them credible out comes


Amrutha asked, Hi Amit, I’m a software engineer. I’ve just joined this organization a couple of weeks ago. This monday, I was given my first assignment. I’m very excited about it and want to do my best and show my boss that I am capable of handling more such tasks. Any tips on how I can impress them?
Amit Bansal answers, Hi Amrutha, Use such Opportunities to bring in broader advantage for your team in all perspective.


shruti asked, Hi Amit, I work in a advertising agency. We work in teams of four. The other three in my team are people with experience and when we get an assignment they work as a team. At times, I feel like the odd one out. Although I do have ideas in my head, I seem tongue tied at times and am not able to put the ideas out on the table in a logical manner. How can I overcome this?
Amit Bansal answers, Hi Shruti, i suggest look into opportunities to have a mind share with rest of the team and understand what your areas of contribution does matter for them and effectively execute it consisten effort will bring in a positive change. Never loose positive outlook.


anju asked, Hi Amit, I’ve been in my present company for almost three years now. Sometimes I feel that no matter what I do, my boss has his own strategy and he wants us just to follow it. How can i make him listen and understand to our ideas as well?
Amit Bansal answers, Hi Anju, as a team individuals’ participation in formation of the strategy is important. Ensure you make use of such opportunities to Pitch in your Ideas with a broder view. try to request increased frequency of such discussions where there is ample scope of Thoughts flowing among the team. Persuasion is the key to win team members conscent.


sandip asked, Hi Amit..I am very good when it comes to technical experties but still I cant make impact..what you would suggest me to make imapact..?
Amit Bansal answers, Hi Sandip, we are all part of an evolving environment and competitive era, it is the continuous interpersonal effectiveness that keep us ahead of others. our Expertise in this scenario would be the Baseline requirement, however focus on Innovative Initiatives and Interpersonal effectiveness will lead us to the Objective


vikas asked, please give some tips to influence the people at work
Amit Bansal answers, Hi Vikas, to have a positive influence with people at work, be it your Team members or Customers. it is very important to be i) Efective Communicator ii) Be a Good listner- understanding and introspecting rigth is the key to influence iii) Empethatical- to understand the situation from others point of view, iv) Being Credibal- you should be strong in competencies as to why other should seek your support, v)Visualise possible areas where you would be needed to go an extra mile and prove your self

********************

Source: http://www.rediff.com

Chat Date: May 30, 2012

Leave a Reply

