Giving a leap start to your career

More often than not, it happens that as soon as students get an engineering seat in the desired college, they feel that they have conquered the world. There is no harm in this elation as long as you do not lose the long term ultimate focus of building a ‘Dream Career’ for yourselves. Getting a degree alone will not make it happen!

Employers look at attributes beyond just your degree. So the need to understand what attributes employers look for in order to determine whether a candidate is fit to join their organization is important

Below is the Q&A session answered by Amit Bansal, CEO PurpleLeap

Ali asked, Amit, is there any certification program that I could do to prove to interviewers that my english is good?

Amit Bansal answers, For language it is not required. Unless it is for a media or equivalent job. Language will get tested during Q&A.


sudhanshu asked, SIR BUT I WANTED TO KNOW WHAT EXTRA CIRCULAR ACTIVITIES OR SOCIETIES SHALL I JOIN WITH WHOM I COULD WORK DURING THESE 4 YEARS AND GET SOME VALUABLE CERTIFICATES. I AM B.E CHEMICAL FIRST YEAR STUDENT
Amit Bansal answers, While extra-curricular activities will give you an edge, you should join only if you feel you enjoy it or if you are good at it. You will need to balance enthusiasm with time, as you will have a lot of work in your engg.


sonam asked, Hello Sir, Good Afternoo, I am a mechanical engineer working with mechanical based company.I am working as a Estimation Engineer.I want to shift from mechanical company into pure software company i.e like infosys, TCS etc etc.Plz guide me…….
Amit Bansal answers, Typically a shift like that would require you to know what skills are required. Such shifts are quite common in the industry. Suggest you think about your long term career choices. What are you good at? What do you want to work on in a software company? How can you add value to a service company? Once you answer these questions, especially the 3rd one, you should have better clarity.


diva asked, I have never had a job and it’s been two years since I left college. How can I increase my chances to secure a good job
Amit Bansal answers, Like I just shared, you should prepare a good sincere resume, prepare for aptitude test, group discussion skills and of course personal interview. Students may suddenly get a call and then it becomes too late to prepare…


vishal asked, i have done b tech, n now uneployed. what do i do?
Amit Bansal answers, Typically this time is spent in preparing a good sincere resume, aptitude test preparation, group discussion skills. Additionally research the companies you want to work for, knowing about them will help you when you appear for the interview.


sudhanshu asked, sir, i am a first year fresher at U.I.C.E.T (FORMERLY DEPARTMENT OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING) PUNJAB UNIVERSITY. I TOOK ADMISSION IN CHEMICAL ENGINEERING BY MY AIEEE RANK OF 17498. I WANT TO KNOW HOW CAN I PREPARE A STRONG PROFILE CV IN THESE 4 YEARS SO THAT CRACK THE PSU LIKE IOCL AND EIL WHICH VISIT MY CAMPUS. OFFCOURCE GOOD C.G.P.A IS MUST\
Amit Bansal answers, Like you said, good CGPA will be critical. You should start working on improving your spoken, written and english listening skills. These along with good CGPA and a good resume should get you your ‘dream job’.


Shrinivas asked, Hi Amit, I am in my mid 40’s and am A Cost Accountant and MBA (Finance) through Distance learning. I find career stagnated. What should I pursue further to boost my career.
Amit Bansal answers, Domain, geography and role are three main ways to challenge yourself. You would need to think which of the above you want to experiment with. Typically boost or growth comes with calculated risk-taking. It depends on your risk-appetite.


Amit Bansal says, Another very good book for english improvement is: Mother Tongue by Bill Bryson


Amit Bansal says, The Use of English by Randolph Quirk. Very good book.


tommy asked, hello sir i am working as software engg, which course is suitable to improve my english communication skills ?
Amit Bansal answers, While you can enroll into a formal course, you can also improve by reading, listening to a lot of english.


Nami asked, Amit, what do you mean by soft skills?
Amit Bansal answers, Soft skills is a sociological term relating, sometimes referring to a person’s “EQ”. EQ is also called as Emotional Quotient. Another way of looking at soft skills is something which enhances the hard skills like technical skills.


shekhar_1 asked, hi i am working in telecom MNC have a degree in computers & pursuing the last sem in MBA-IT from SMU. Do this MBA from SMU worth for me or what other courses should I prefer
Amit Bansal answers, You have degrees which many do not. It depends what you may want to do with additional qualifications. More education may indicate that you want to enter the research/teaching line. Otherwise, better to apply the skills/knowledge which you have gained in the workplace or in a business of your own. You need to take a decision here.


narendra asked, Amit, my written english is good, but when I speak I often loose out on giving quick responses because I think that my responses might be wrong… how can i solve this problem? Do you have a tip?
Amit Bansal answers, It seems that you haven’t practiced speaking enough. Even with written I suggest you should not take it for granted. Watch instructive videos on you tube and see how eminent people speak. Important that you have some role models for yourself. Someone whom you admire in the way the commnicate…


Avin asked, I’ve just started my final year of engineering. How can I brush up my english and communicative skills before the placements begin?
Amit Bansal answers, Very important that you combine a formal english communication course with lot of reading, watching instructive videos, and taking a language assesment test for yourself in about 2 months time.


sunita asked, Amit, I’m a plus two student. What kind of skills other than the technical skills are companies looking for while hiring?
Amit Bansal answers, at your stage, instead of thinking of what companies are looking for, it might be a good idea of speaking to people in your area who are highly competent and observe how they behave, talk, dress…that is what interviewers are looking at…


vikky asked, Sir, Does ISTD Diploma beneficial or not? Kindly let me know the websites from where i can get the training material related to personality development
Amit Bansal answers, The training field has lot of specializations. You should think about what kind of trainer you want to become. Once you do that, you can choose the right kind of courses.


sumina asked, Hi Amit, how early do you need to start planning for your career?
Amit Bansal answers, Career planning is first preceded by passion. You need to think about what excites you, what you are good at and finally how it will help you make money. This will help you to leap into a particular line with a lot of self-belief.


vikky asked, hi sir. m working as a personality development trainer. Kindly let me know which course is better to suit this profile.
Amit Bansal answers, You should think of doing a psychology or a sociology course. Either will serve as a backbone for being a trainer.

Source: http://www.rediff.com

Chat date: August 22, 2012

Leave a Reply

